I enjoy spending time walking around the city of Kuala Lumpur. I go to museums, parks, historical marks, and, for sure, shopping malls (lots of them!)

Though I have been doing this for a few years now, there is no way I have seen it all. There are so many things to see and do in the city.

IMG_4734
One of the Lat cartoon characters on display on the streets nearby Masjid Jamek LRT station

Just recently, as I was walking to see some amazing arches of cartoon characters on Jalan  Melaka, I discovered another tourist spot – a tropical forest named Taman Eko Rimba K.L. or K.L. Forest Eco Park.  I had passed the area many times before but never bothered to pay attention of what it had to offer. When I was near it the other day, I decided to walk in.

The cartoon characters, by the way, have come from the works of Lat, Malaysia’s famous cartoonist. I have written about this amazing display which you can read here.

There was Canopy Walk at the Eco Park which I tried and enjoyed. The experience of being in a forest in the middle of the bustling city life, was pretty neat.  Here are some photos which I took at the park.

The trip up the hill of Bukit Nanas on the Canopy Walk ended near the base of the Kuala Lumpur Tower. It wasn’t my first time to reach the K.L. Tower though. I was there a few times already and, in fact, once, I took part in a towerthon event. Getting there from the forest park was a different experience.

Near the base of the Tower, there was K.L. Upside Down House that appeared to be a major attraction as it had just been opened. You can learn more about this unique house in a recent article I wrote here.

There’s plenty to see at the K.L. Tower including an animal zoo as well as a historical Jelutong Tree that is over 100 years old. There’s also an observation deck. You can visit their website at http://www.menarakl.com.my to get more info.

Anyway, the entire walking trip from the Masjid Jamek LRT station area where the Lat cartoons were until the walk up the hill to get to K.L. Tower, was roughly around 2-3 kilometers. It was fun, nonetheless!

All together, during the walking trip I got to see Lat cartoons, K.L. Forest Eco Park, K.L. Upside Down House and K.L. Tower!

###

