Putrajaya hosts a number of parks that showcase the diversity of Malaysian agriculture. I’ve written about some of these attractions and now I am going to let you know about Taman Warisan Pertanian or The Agriculture Heritage Park on a hill at Precinct 16 which I visited last Sunday.

It’s where I discovered some fruit plants which I had never seen before.

The Park had a main building that housed shops and other facilities. I stopped by at the information center on the ground floor to take a peek at some of the displays before I made a move to climb upstairs to the shops including food outlets area.

That Sunday afternoon seemed like a busy time for food vendors. A crowd were seen enjoying their late lunch and fruit juices under the shade of little canopies.

I proceeded to find the entrance going up to the orchard. A fee of RM2.00 was paid before they let me in. Just so you know, children below 12 years old and students (validation required) can enter for free.

The orchard was equipped with a buggy transport service (though a driver was not available during my visit) but I had come prepared anyway, to explore the orchard on foot.

There were seasonal fruit trees and many others with different shapes and looks. It was exciting to get to see Golden Apples (kedondong) trees.

TWP1TWP6TWP2-150x150TWP3

 

 

 

 

Other crops in the orchard included paddy and cocoa.

It was so cool to see coffee trees and black peppers up close!

Meanwhile, there was a shed where a rubber processing demonstration was located, at the top of the hill. The place was surrounded by tall rubber trees which environment reminded me of a rubber plantation estate nearby the village I grew up in, back in the old days.

The weather was steamy hot as I entered the orchard and I returned to the main building just minutes before heavy rain started to pour down.

I am not a big fresh fruit eater but that didn’t stop me from enjoying the visit to the orchard.

The entire tour that lasted about 45 minutes to an hour was exhilarating plus educational!

I have captured some photos at the orchard. Hope you’d enjoy them.

By Kam Hashim

***

